Short answer: Buy SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic if you want the formula with published human testing. Buy Brandefy if you want a similar 15% vitamin C recipe and a much smaller bill. Neither has a published head-to-head trial, so the choice comes down to proof versus price.
Who this comparison is for
You searched for Brandefy Vitamin C vs SkinCeuticals because one bottle costs far more than the other. You want to know if the extra money buys real results or just a nicer box.
I compared the labelled formulas, the published research and the listed prices. Where a fact is missing, I say so instead of guessing.
Quick comparison table
| Feature | SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic | Brandefy Clinical Vit C + E + Ferulic |
|---|---|---|
| Vitamin C | 15% L-ascorbic acid | 15% L-ascorbic acid (retailer listing) |
| Ferulic acid | 0.5% | 0.5% (retailer listing) |
| Vitamin E form | 1% alpha-tocopherol | Tocopheryl acetate; amount not stated in sources I found |
| pH | Not stated in sources I found | "Below 4" (retailer listing) |
| Size | 30 ml | 30 ml |
| Published human trials | Yes, on this formula | None found |
| Typical price | £145 (UK retailer) or $182 (US retailer) | Marketed as a fraction of that; varies by seller |
Sources: UK retailer listing, US retailer listing, Brandefy retailer listing. Prices change, so check before you buy.
Why the 15% + 1% + 0.5% recipe matters
Pure vitamin C breaks down fast when it meets air and light. That is why most cheap serums turn brown on your shelf.
The classic fix is a trio: L-ascorbic acid, vitamin E and ferulic acid. Duke University researchers tested that exact blend in 2005 and published it in the Journal of Investigative Dermatology.
- Ferulic acid made the vitamin C and E solution more chemically stable.
- Protection against solar-simulated radiation rose from about 4-fold to about 8-fold.
- Researchers measured it through skin redness and sunburn cell formation.
Source: Lin et al., 2005, via Duke Scholars.
What the evidence says about each serum
SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic
The 2005 formula is the SkinCeuticals one: 15% L-ascorbic acid, 1% alpha-tocopherol and 0.5% ferulic acid. A separate Duke study compared it with a vehicle control and reported significant photoprotection (p<.01).
One caution: the lead researcher, Dr. Sheldon Pinnell, disclosed a consulting role with SkinCeuticals. The science is real, but it is not fully independent.
Study summary: SkinCeuticals key study sheet.
Brandefy Clinical Vit C + E + Ferulic
Brandefy's retailer listing describes 15% L-ascorbic acid, 0.5% ferulic acid, vitamin E and a pH below 4. It also calls the serum dermatologist-approved, which is a marketing claim I could not verify.
The Duke results apply to a specific formula, not to every serum with similar ingredients. Brandefy uses tocopheryl acetate, while the studied formula used alpha-tocopherol. So the research supports the recipe idea, not Brandefy's exact bottle.
Ingredient analysis: Skincarisma counts 14 ingredients and flags it as alcohol-free, paraben-free and fragrance-free in its summary.
What you pay for with the pricier bottle
- Human data: SkinCeuticals can point to peer-reviewed work on its own formula.
- Known vitamin E form: It uses 1% alpha-tocopherol, the same form tested at Duke.
- Brand track record: The serum has been on the market for years, and clinics widely stock it.
- Packaging and polish: Pretty, yes. Proven to change results? Not that I found.
A £145 bottle is not a scam. It just charges you for evidence, and evidence costs money.
What you give up with the cheaper bottle
- You get no published trial on Brandefy's own formula.
- You cannot confirm the exact vitamin E amount from public listings.
- You depend more on batch freshness, so buy from authorised sellers.
- You may find fewer detailed usage studies from independent dermatologists.
That list sounds scary, yet none of it says the serum fails. It says the proof is thinner.
Which one should you buy?
| Your situation | Better pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| First vitamin C serum, tight budget | Brandefy | Similar actives, lower risk to your wallet |
| You want proven photoprotection data | SkinCeuticals | Peer-reviewed work on this exact formula |
| Sensitive skin | Either, after a patch test | Both use 15% L-ascorbic acid, which can sting |
| Already happy with a cheaper serum | Neither | Do not fix what works |
My honest take: if money is no issue, SkinCeuticals is the safer bet. If it is, Brandefy is a fair experiment, and you can always upgrade later.
How to use either serum
SkinCeuticals suggests applying 4 to 5 drops to a dry face, neck and chest, then finishing with sunscreen. Its retailer instructions list morning and night use.
- Cleanse your face and let it dry fully.
- Patch test on your jaw for a few days first.
- Apply a few drops and press them in gently.
- Add moisturiser if you need it.
- Finish with broad-spectrum sunscreen in the morning.
Vitamin C is an add-on, not a sunscreen replacement. Skipping SPF is like buying a seatbelt and parking inside the car.
Mistakes that waste your money
- Using a serum that has turned dark brown.
- Buying from random sellers with no batch information.
- Jumping straight to twice-daily use on sensitive skin.
- Expecting overnight results from any serum.
Frequently asked questions
Is Brandefy a real dupe of SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic?
It matches the headline recipe on paper. It is not identical, because the vitamin E form differs and no public trial tests Brandefy itself.
Does SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic really work?
Peer-reviewed research shows measurable photoprotection from this formula. Some researchers had ties to the brand, so read the results with that in mind.
Can I use these serums every day?
Many people do, once their skin tolerates it. Start slowly and stop if redness or burning lasts.
Do I still need sunscreen?
Yes. The Duke studies tested the serum as an added layer, not a sunscreen substitute.
Final verdict
SkinCeuticals wins on evidence. Brandefy wins on price. Pick the one that matches what you value, then use it consistently with sunscreen.
Keep reading
- Kerlix vs Kling: another "which one works best" comparison
- More Life Style guides from Big Write Hook
Sources
- Lin F-H et al. J Invest Dermatol 2005;125(4):826-832. DOI link
- SkinCeuticals key study summary (Placzek et al., 2005)
- Brandefy product listing
- Skincarisma ingredient analysis
This article is general information, not medical advice. Ask a dermatologist if you have a skin condition.
Short answer: Buy SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic if you want the formula with published human testing. Buy Brandefy if you want a similar 15% vitamin C recipe and a much smaller bill. Neither has a published head-to-head trial, so the choice comes down to proof versus price.
Who this comparison is for
You searched for Brandefy Vitamin C vs SkinCeuticals because one bottle costs far more than the other. You want to know if the extra money buys real results or just a nicer box.
I compared the labelled formulas, the published research and the listed prices. Where a fact is missing, I say so instead of guessing.
Quick comparison table
| Feature | SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic | Brandefy Clinical Vit C + E + Ferulic |
|---|---|---|
| Vitamin C | 15% L-ascorbic acid | 15% L-ascorbic acid (retailer listing) |
| Ferulic acid | 0.5% | 0.5% (retailer listing) |
| Vitamin E form | 1% alpha-tocopherol | Tocopheryl acetate; amount not stated in sources I found |
| pH | Not stated in sources I found | "Below 4" (retailer listing) |
| Size | 30 ml | 30 ml |
| Published human trials | Yes, on this formula | None found |
| Typical price | £145 (UK retailer) or $182 (US retailer) | Marketed as a fraction of that; varies by seller |
Sources: UK retailer listing, US retailer listing, Brandefy retailer listing. Prices change, so check before you buy.
Why the 15% + 1% + 0.5% recipe matters
Pure vitamin C breaks down fast when it meets air and light. That is why most cheap serums turn brown on your shelf.
The classic fix is a trio: L-ascorbic acid, vitamin E and ferulic acid. Duke University researchers tested that exact blend in 2005 and published it in the Journal of Investigative Dermatology.
- Ferulic acid made the vitamin C and E solution more chemically stable.
- Protection against solar-simulated radiation rose from about 4-fold to about 8-fold.
- Researchers measured it through skin redness and sunburn cell formation.
Source: Lin et al., 2005, via Duke Scholars.
What the evidence says about each serum
SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic
The 2005 formula is the SkinCeuticals one: 15% L-ascorbic acid, 1% alpha-tocopherol and 0.5% ferulic acid. A separate Duke study compared it with a vehicle control and reported significant photoprotection (p<.01).
One caution: the lead researcher, Dr. Sheldon Pinnell, disclosed a consulting role with SkinCeuticals. The science is real, but it is not fully independent.
Study summary: SkinCeuticals key study sheet.
Brandefy Clinical Vit C + E + Ferulic
Brandefy's retailer listing describes 15% L-ascorbic acid, 0.5% ferulic acid, vitamin E and a pH below 4. It also calls the serum dermatologist-approved, which is a marketing claim I could not verify.
The Duke results apply to a specific formula, not to every serum with similar ingredients. Brandefy uses tocopheryl acetate, while the studied formula used alpha-tocopherol. So the research supports the recipe idea, not Brandefy's exact bottle.
Ingredient analysis: Skincarisma counts 14 ingredients and flags it as alcohol-free, paraben-free and fragrance-free in its summary.
What you pay for with the pricier bottle
- Human data: SkinCeuticals can point to peer-reviewed work on its own formula.
- Known vitamin E form: It uses 1% alpha-tocopherol, the same form tested at Duke.
- Brand track record: The serum has been on the market for years, and clinics widely stock it.
- Packaging and polish: Pretty, yes. Proven to change results? Not that I found.
A £145 bottle is not a scam. It just charges you for evidence, and evidence costs money.
What you give up with the cheaper bottle
- You get no published trial on Brandefy's own formula.
- You cannot confirm the exact vitamin E amount from public listings.
- You depend more on batch freshness, so buy from authorised sellers.
- You may find fewer detailed usage studies from independent dermatologists.
That list sounds scary, yet none of it says the serum fails. It says the proof is thinner.
Which one should you buy?
| Your situation | Better pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| First vitamin C serum, tight budget | Brandefy | Similar actives, lower risk to your wallet |
| You want proven photoprotection data | SkinCeuticals | Peer-reviewed work on this exact formula |
| Sensitive skin | Either, after a patch test | Both use 15% L-ascorbic acid, which can sting |
| Already happy with a cheaper serum | Neither | Do not fix what works |
My honest take: if money is no issue, SkinCeuticals is the safer bet. If it is, Brandefy is a fair experiment, and you can always upgrade later.
How to use either serum
SkinCeuticals suggests applying 4 to 5 drops to a dry face, neck and chest, then finishing with sunscreen. Its retailer instructions list morning and night use.
- Cleanse your face and let it dry fully.
- Patch test on your jaw for a few days first.
- Apply a few drops and press them in gently.
- Add moisturiser if you need it.
- Finish with broad-spectrum sunscreen in the morning.
Vitamin C is an add-on, not a sunscreen replacement. Skipping SPF is like buying a seatbelt and parking inside the car.
Mistakes that waste your money
- Using a serum that has turned dark brown.
- Buying from random sellers with no batch information.
- Jumping straight to twice-daily use on sensitive skin.
- Expecting overnight results from any serum.
Frequently asked questions
Is Brandefy a real dupe of SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic?
It matches the headline recipe on paper. It is not identical, because the vitamin E form differs and no public trial tests Brandefy itself.
Does SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic really work?
Peer-reviewed research shows measurable photoprotection from this formula. Some researchers had ties to the brand, so read the results with that in mind.
Can I use these serums every day?
Many people do, once their skin tolerates it. Start slowly and stop if redness or burning lasts.
Do I still need sunscreen?
Yes. The Duke studies tested the serum as an added layer, not a sunscreen substitute.
Final verdict
SkinCeuticals wins on evidence. Brandefy wins on price. Pick the one that matches what you value, then use it consistently with sunscreen.
Keep reading
- Kerlix vs Kling: another "which one works best" comparison
- More Life Style guides from Big Write Hook
Sources
- Lin F-H et al. J Invest Dermatol 2005;125(4):826-832. DOI link
- SkinCeuticals key study summary (Placzek et al., 2005)
- Brandefy product listing
- Skincarisma ingredient analysis
This article is general information, not medical advice. Ask a dermatologist if you have a skin condition.
